New principals for 14 elementary, middle and high schools

8/8/2014, 5:59 a.m.

Fourteen DeKalb County schools are starting the 2014-2015 school year with new, reassigned or interim principals.

Six schools have new principals

Antonie Rhodes, assistant principal at Champion Theme School, becomes principal of Champion Middle School.

Tom McFerrin, assistant principal at Dunwoody High, and Elgin Neal, assistant principal at Warren Tech High, have been named principal of their respective high schools.

Dontae Andrews, assistant principal at Brockett Elementary, is the new principal at Avondale Elementary, and Delores Paschall, assistant principal at Pleasantdale Elementary, becomes principal of Oakcliff Elementary. Stephanie Chattman is the new principal of Evansdale Elementary. She was formerly assistant principal at Laurel Ridge Elementary.

Five have reassigned principals

Rosemary Malone, former principal at Avondale Elementary, has been reassigned to Idlewood Elementary. Obelia Hall, former principal at Stephenson Middle, has been reassigned to Dunaire Elementary.

Linda Priester, former principal of Hambrick Elementary, has been reassigned to E.L. Bouie Theme, and Carolyn Williams, principal of Southwest DeKalb High, is now principal at Stephenson Middle.

Audrey Brooks, who was E.L. Bouie Theme School principal, is now principal at Hambrick Elementary.

Three have interim principals

Andrew Tatum, a retiree, is the interim principal at Southwest DeKalb High, and Vivian Terry, also a retiree, is the interim principal at Salem Middle School.

Leroy Jenkins, Cross Keys High’s assistant principal, will serve as the school’s interim principal.

For more information, visit www.dekalb.k12.ga.us.