Two voter forums set for July 15

7/3/2014, 4:32 p.m.

Voters can learn more about the candidates in the July 22 runoff at two forums in Decatur and Lithonia on July 15.

The six DeKalb School Board candidates seeking the districts 3, 4 and 5 seats will appear at a Collaborative Forum hosted by the DeKalb NAACP, the DeKalb County Council of PTAs, DeKalb Seniors Inc., the Organization of DeKalb Educators, the DeKalb Chapter of the National Council of Negro Women, and CrossRoadsNews from 6 to 8 p.m. in the Gallery at South DeKalb.

The forum takes place on the stage near the DeKalb Tax Commissioner’s Office. The mall is at 2801 Candler Road in Decatur.

From there, the School Board candidates will join DeKalb sheriff and state school superintendent candidates at a Voter Empowerment Collaborative’s forum at First Afrikan Presbyterian Church in Lithonia at 5197 Salem Road. It takes place from 7 to 8:30 p.m.

In the District 3 School Board race, incumbent Michael Erwin is facing businessman Atticus LeBlanc. For the District 4 seat, incumbents Karen Carter and Jim McMahan are facing off because of redistricting. In District 5, incumbent Thad Mayfield is facing private school founder Vickie Turner.

In the race for sheriff, incumbent Jeff Mann is facing former DeKalb CEO Vernon Jones for the office. State school superintendent candidates in the Democratic runoff are state Rep. Alisha Thomas Morgan and former Decatur City Schools School Board Chair Valarie D. Wilson. Republican candidates are Michael L. “Mike” Buck and Richard L. Wood.

Early voting, which started June 30, is under way weekdays 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the DeKalb Elections Office, 4380 Memorial Drive in Decatur, through July 18.