3,642 already cast early ballots in July 22 runoffs

Ken Watts | 7/11/2014, 6:41 a.m.

Through Thursday, 3,642 voters have cast ballots in the July 22 runoff election in DeKalb County.

School Board candidates Dr. Michael Erwin and Atticus LeBlanc, Thad Mayfield and Vickie Turner, and Karen Carter and Jim McMahan are seeking the District 3, 5 and 6 seats, respectively.

DeKalb Sheriff Jeff Mann is facing opposition from former DeKalb CEO Vernon Jones.

In the state school superintendent race for the Democratic nomination, former Decatur City School Board member Valarie Wilson and state Rep. Alisha Thomas Morgan are vying for the Democratic nomination, and Michael “Mike” Buck and Richard Wood are vying for the Republican nomination.

In-person early voting, available only at the DeKalb Elections Office at 4380 Memorial Drive in Decatur, ends on July 18.

On election day, all precincts are open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

For more information, call 404-298-4020 or visit www.dekalbvotes.com.