Federal help to pay for storm damage

3/7/2014, 6 a.m.

Georgia will get federal aid to help pay for the Feb. 10-14 ice and snowstorm that caused millions of dollars in damage and shut the state down for three days.

The White House said late Thursday that President Barack Obama declared a major disaster in the state of Georgia and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts.

Gov. Nathan Deal had submitted the request for federal disaster relief on Feb. 26 to help cover an estimated $43 million in damage in 48 counties, including DeKalb County, which was not among the approved counties.

In his request, Deal said the exceptional amount of ice brought by the winter storm led to fallen trees, debris and broken power lines. The federal funding will cover 75 percent of the cost for the state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis.

The 39 approved counties are Baldwin, Bulloch, Burke, Butts, Candler, Carroll, Columbia, Coweta, Dade, Emanuel, Fayette, Fulton, Gilmer, Glascock, Hancock, Haralson, Heard, Jasper, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Jones, Lamar, McDuffie, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Pickens, Pike, Richmond, Screven, Spalding, Upson, Walker, Warren, Washington, Whitfield, and Wilkes.

In its March 6 statement, the White House said federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

W. Craig Fugate, FEMA’s administrator, named W. Michael Moore as the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.

He said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.